Washington, D.C. – Today, Speaker Nancy Pelosi named Congressman Filemon Vela (TX-34), a member of the House Armed Services Committee, as a conferee to the House of Representatives and Senate conference committee charged with reconciling differences between the two chambers’ versions of the 2021 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).

“The House and Senate have historically put political divisions aside to pass the NDAA, which authorizes our national defense priorities for the year and provides our troops with the resources needed to carry out their missions at home and abroad,” said Congressman Vela.

“The House-passed NDAA includes provision that would lead to a three percent pay increase for servicemembers, improvements to family housing and services, and provisions designed to promote diversity and inclusion in our ranks. As we continue negotiations, I hope my amendment to extend intermediate and senior-level officer professional military education to senior non-commissioned officers, which was included in the House’s final bill, remains in the final version of the bill language we agree to. 

“I consider it one of my highest duties in Congress to ensure that our men and women in uniform are ready and equipped to remain the world’s preeminent fighting force. I look forward to working with my counterparts in the Senate throughout the conference process to craft a final bill that strengthens our national security for years to come.” 

Chairman Adam Smith of the House Armed Services Committee will serve as chair of the conference committee. The House Conferees to the conference committee are:

House Committee on Armed Services

  • Congressman Adam Smith
  • Congresswoman Susan Davis
  • Congressman James Langevin
  • Congressman Rick Larsen
  • Congressman Jim Cooper
  • Congressman Joe Courtney
  • Congressman John Garamendi
  • Congresswoman Jackie Speier
  • Congressman Donald Norcross
  • Congressman Ruben Gallego
  • Congressman Seth Moulton
  • Congressman Salud Carbajal
  • Congressman Anthony Brown
  • Congressman Ro Khanna
  • Congressman William Keating
  • Congressman Filemon Vela
  • Congressman Andy Kim
  • Congresswoman Kendra Horn
  • Congressman Gil Cisneros 

House Committee on Agriculture

  • Congressman Collin Peterson
  • Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger 

House Committee on Budget

  • Congressman Joseph Morelle
  • Congressman Steven Horsford

House Committee on Education and Labor

  • Congressman Bobby Scott
  • Congresswoman Lori Trahan 

House Committee on Energy and Commerce

  • Congressman Frank Pallone
  • Congresswoman Diana DeGette 

House Committee on Financial Services

  • Congresswoman Maxine Waters
  • Congressman Juan Vargas 

House Committee on Foreign Affairs 

  • Congressman Eliot Engel
  • Congressman Brad Sherman 

House Committee on Homeland Security

  • Congresswoman Xochitl Torres Small
  • Congresswoman Elissa Slotkin

 House Committee on House Administration 

  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren
  • Congresswoman Marcia Fudge

 House Committee on Intelligence

  • Congressman Adam Schiff
  • Congresswoman Terri Sewell

House Committee on Judiciary 

  • Congressman Jerrold Nadler
  • Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell

House Committee on Natural Resources

  • Congressman Raul Grijalva
  • Congresswoman Debra Haaland

House Committee on Oversight

  • Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney 
  • Congressman Stephen Lynch

House Committee on Science

  • Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson
  • Congressman Mikie Sherrill

 House Committee on Small Business

  • Congresswoman Nydia Velazquez
  • Congressman Jared Golden

 House Committee on Transportation

  • Congressman Jared Huffman
  • Congressman Harley Rouda

 House Committee on Veterans Affairs

  • Congressman Mark Takano
  • Congressman Conor Lamb

House Committee on Ways and Means

  • Congressman Richard Neal
  • Congressman Jimmy Panetta


# # #