Washington, DC – Today, Border Caucus Co-Chairs, Representative Filemon Vela (D-TX) and Representative Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), sent a letter to House Appropriators expressing their opposition to the FY18 Department of Homeland Security bill, which funds the construction of border walls. Members of the Border Caucus also stated their intent to oppose bills on the House floor that include funding for border wall construction. The House of Representatives is expected to consider a package of security appropriations bills next week that include border wall funding.

Co-signers of the letter include Representatives Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Gene Green (D-TX), Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Beto O’Rourke (D-TX), Juan Vargas (D-CA), Henry Cuellar (D-TX) and Marc Veasey (D-TX). 

“Making American taxpayers pay $1.6 billion for a portion of the wall is asinine,” said Representative Vela, Ranking Member of the Border and Maritime Security Subcommittee. “I understand Republicans want to give President Trump one win due to his failed six months in office, but this is just irresponsible. The border wall will rip our community apart, stomp on landowners’ rights, and on the wildlife of the Rio Grande Valley, including the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge.”

Representative Grijalva, Ranking Member of the House Committee on Natural Resources, stated “President Trump has once again defaulted on one of his key campaign promises to make Mexico pay for a border wall. Instead he and Republicans are attempting to force American taxpayers to pay $1.6 billion for the construction of an inefficient wall on our Southern border. The proposed wall will not enhance security, but instead pollute fragile ecosystems, harm international economic opportunities, damage tribal sovereignty and further militarizes border communities. A wall will have devastating impacts to taxpayers, the environment, and countless communities.”